Districts in tamilnadu
Thiruvarur tdrhjkl;-min.jpg


  • District (zilā) is an administrative division of an Indian state or territory. Districts are further subdivided into sub-divisions, and in others directly into tehsils or talukas.

  • The Indian state of Tamil Nadu has 38 districts after several splits of the original 13 districts at the formation of the state on 1 November 1956. The states are further divided into taluks and smaller administrative units.

  • At the time of Independence, Madras Presidency in India was made up of 26 districts, of which 12 districts were found in the present-day of Tamil Nadu, namely, Chingleput (Chengalpattu), Coimbatore (Coimbatore), Nilgiris (NIlgiris), North Arcot, Madras(Chennai), Madura(Madurai), Ramnad(Ramanathapuram), Salem(Salem), South Arcot, Tanjore(Thanjavur), Tinnevely(Tirunelveli), and Trichinopoly(Trichy).

  • After Indian independence in 1947, the Pudukkottai Princely State was amalgamated with Indian Union           on 4 March 1948 and became a division in Trichinopoly (trichy) district.